The St.Kitts-Nevis List





Contact Us
picpicBasseterre St.Kitts, West Indies                   Your link to St.Kitts-Nevis since 1994              

pic Prev

Next pic

Advertise to over 10,000 SKNers
Click HERE for details

Bookmark and Share

More News Post a comment

St.Kitts-Nevis’ 40 most influential and Powerful Women

In recognition of International Womens Day on Tuesday March 8th the SKN Times has compiled and  selected St.Kitts-Nevis’ 40 most powerful and influential women.  The listing isn't only about celebrity or popularity; it's also about influence and power. Power usually equates to influence thus some persons listed may not be popular names but are influential because of their position.

They are politicians, bankers, entertainment personalities, radio announcers, business executives, CEO’s, entrepreneurs and cultural icons.

Some are famous, some you may never have heard of. But their power and influence has in some way shaped the lives of many whether directly or indirectly.  .

Many of the women on the list are groundbreakers in their respective field. These are the Kittitian and Nevisian women history will remember. More importantly, they're the women who inspire the rest of us to become better people.

The list was selected by a panel of professionals including a lawyer, business executive, educator, entrepreneur in addition to the Editors at the SKNTimes. No ranking system was instituted in the listing. Therefore the list is in no particular order





SKNTimes 40 most powerful and influential women


  • Janet Harris - Financial Secretary St. Kitts-Nevis
  • Hon. Marcella Liburd – Minister of Health, Social Services, Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs
  • Astona Browne - Permanent Secretary, National Security
  • Hillary Webbe-Hazel - Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sustainable Development
  • Toni Frederick – Radio Personality/Senior News Journalist
  • Shannon Hawley – Deputy Chairperson Carnival Committee/Promoter
  • Dr. Thelma Phillip-Browne- Medical Doctor/Social Activist/Pastor
  • Sharon Rattan – Permanent Secretary within the Ministry of Gender Affairs.
  • Ambassador Jacinth Henry-Martin- Permanent Representative to the Organization of American States (OAS)
  • Jihan Williams- Lawyer/Former President SKNYPA/Parliament Clerk
  • Josephine Mallalieu - Chief Magistrate, St. Kitts
  • Corliss Charles-Sutton-Country Head for RBTT Bank St. Kitts-Nevis
  • Claudette Jenkins - Resident Magistrate
  • Keesha Jones – Director-TDC Nevis
  • Jacqueline Armony - Culture/Heritage/ Museum/Conservatism
  • Constance Mitcham- Renowned Lawyer , Former Minister and Parlimentarian-First elected female parliamentarian and first female to act as Prime Minister.  
  • Wendy Phipps- Former Exec Director of Chamber of Industry and Commerce
  • Lavern Caines- LIME Director of Marketing
  • Sephlin Lawrence- Director of  Social Security
  • Dawne Williams- Regional Director-First Caribbean Bank
  • Janet Grell-Hull- Sports Admnistrator and Business Women
  • Carleen Morton- Principal Basseterre High School/General Secretary St.Kitts Teachers Union
  • Jenifer Nero-Managing Director Eastern Caribbean Central Bank
  • Maritza Bowry- Company Secretary-TDC
  • Judith Rawlins- CEO/Owner –Brown Sugar
  • Michelle “Sister Sensi” Stokes- Radio Personality
  • Judith Gumbs- Owner-J’s Shop and Save
  • Azilla Clarke- Social Worker/ President of SKNYPA
  • Patsy Hanley- Advisor in the Ministry of Health on Nevis
  • Deniece Alleyne- Editor-Democrat Newspaper
  • Cyndie Demming- President-National Association of Administrative Assistants
  • Pauline Hendrickson-Director Public Prosecutions
  • Sonya Parry- Partner at Hamil, Gonsalves,Smith-Director at The Bank of Nevis Ltd.
  • Hon. Marjorie Morton-Nevis Island Assembly President/SpeakerHouse of Assembly Chambers
  • Mrs. Shirley Wilkes-Cordinator Health Promotion/Education Unit(Nevis)
  • Dr. Carolyn Lawrence- Medical Doctor
  • Ms. Sonia McPhail- Principal- CFB College
  • Jacklyn Bryan- Radio Personality/Broadcast Journalist
  • Veta Morton- Hospital Administrator (Alexandria Hospital)
Reader comments

Copyright © 1994-2011 SKNList.com      All Rights Reserved    Cayon, St.Kitts-Nevis        Terms of use